Kundalini Yoga - Philosophy And Practice Of Kundalini Yoga
- Promote this Page


Different Styles of Yoga

Kundalini Yoga

Philosophy and Practice of Kundalini Yoga

The philosophy of Kundalini yoga is based on the belief that the human body contains an amazing network of tube like structures which are made of invisible cosmological matter. These tubes are called Nadis. They run throughout the body in a massive network just like that of veins and arteries. These carry the Prana or the vital force that is the definite indication of life in any living creature. They form a knot like ethereal structure in the course of their network wherever they cross each other. These are plexus and are termed as Chakras. These are not visible so many different types of medical sciences do not believe in their existence. But alternate medicine practices of Ayurveda and practices of Yoga which are ancient ways of healthy living are based on the foundation of the concept of Nadis.

The term Nadi is derived from the Sanskrit word Nad, which means motion. The word Chakras stands for the meeting or interlacing of these Nadis. These are considered to be very high energy zones of the body. Different practitioners give a different count of Nadis in the human system. The generally accepted count ranges from 72,000 to 3,50,000. The main identified and accepted Nadis are Sushumna, Ida, Pingala, Gandhari, Hastajihva, Kuhu, Saraswati, Pusha, Sankhini, Payasvini, Varuni, Alambusha, Vishvodhara, Yasasvini.

It is believed that all the Nadis emerge from the Kanda. This is the place where the Sushumna Nadi meets the Muladhara Chakra. This is situated very near to the anus. This being the main Nadi, is the most sought after by yogis and practitioners of Ayurveda. Muladhara Chakra is also the most sought after because it is believed that Kundalini when awakened starts its upward journey from here. The yogis or Sadhaks of Kundalini yoga try and identify this basic Chakra and concentrate on it to begin the process of rise of Kundalini.

The phenomenon of Kundalini is a very interesting one. Kundalini is considered to be the cosmic energy that lies dormant at the Muladhara Chakra and rises in the form of serpentine wave of energy when it is awakened. This is the embodiment of Shakti and is pure cosmic energy which manifests itself in supreme creativity, wisdom and knowledge. This passage of rising of Kundalini is accomplished with constant practice and Dhyana. Pranayama also plays an important role in arousing the Kundalini. Ultimately when it rises to the forehead and rests in the middle of the eyes the person attains enlightenment. After this its passage towards the divine continues when it leaves the body through the head. This is the stage of merger with the divine. This process of arousal and rising of Kundalini is termed as Kundalini yoga.

Kundalini is considered Goddess of speech and wisdom and knowledge. It is the embodiment of all that is creative, noble and powerful. When it leaves its dormant station and starts rising through the back of spine in an upwards fashion towards the head the person gradually starts becoming more and more illuminated in mind, body and spirit. It is a powerful force that helps a Sadhak or yogi to attain all that he wishes for and makes him all that he ever wants to be. This is the origination and radiance of pure positive energy that makes its journey throughout the system of the human body and makes all the systems of the human body realize their perfect functioning.

The astral network of Nadis is connected to the mind and Chakras are placed at many levels of the spine. So the mind is connected to the rest of the body through these Nadis. Therefore the movement of vital Prana is something that controls the motion of vitality and vigor throughout the system and has connectivity with the mind. In fact Prana is the connecting flow that keeps the mind alive and in control over the rest of the bodily functions. The flow of this vital Prana is the force that makes the static energy of Kundalini get aroused and change its form to dynamic form and make it rise through the spine to create a high energy state of awakening in the entire body.

The practice of arousal of Kundalini through Kundalini yoga can start only when the Sadhak is completely pure in mind, body and spirit. Since it is pure form of high level energy it should not be attempted to be awakened without proper cultivation of the purity of actions and thoughts. If this is done without theoretical knowledge or properly following the principles it is possible to get afflicted with many serious injuries or ailments. The ideal state of attempting to arouse the Kundalini is the state of Vairagya when the mind is free of all the desires and Kama (sexual thoughts), Krodha (anger), Moha (cravings), Mad (arrogance). After this with intense concentration the Kundalini is urged to be woken.

Different styles of yoga awaken the Kundalini by using different methodologies available to them as per their chosen form of practice. Hatha yogis use the path of Pranayama, Asanas and Mudras. Raj yogis train their minds sufficiently with thorough practice in concentration to awaken the Kundalini. The Gyana yogis use their accumulated wisdom and analytical thought capability to arouse Kundalini. The practitioners of Mantra yoga also called Tantric yogis do this by chanting various mantras or repeated chanting of 'Om'. Bhakta yogis do it by the intensity of their devotion. But all the practitioners of every different form of yoga believe that attainment of ultimate salvation through Samadhi is not possible without arousing the Kundalini.

It is also believed that sometimes simultaneously many practices are to be utilized in order to arouse the Kundalini. Also the guru can prescribe a set practice as per the requirement of the individual Sadhak. Sometimes the Kundalini in certain persons is awakened without any extra effort also. The radiance of such a person is visible in everything that he does.

<< Back to Yoga Main Page