Kundalini Yoga - Chakras and their Arousal
- Promote this Page


Different Styles of Yoga

Kundalini Yoga

Kundalini Yoga - Chakras and their Arousal

Chakras are formed as a result of interwoven occurrences of Nadis as described in detail in the Philosophy and Practice of Kundalini yoga. These are high energy zones and are considered to be the resting points of the Kundalini when it starts rising through the Sushumna Nadi. Many physicians of the modern medicinal practices refuse to accept the existence of Chakras. Their argument is that the autopsy of a dead human body does not reveal any such structures that can be called Chakras.

The ancient texts recognize the presence of Chakras in the human body as a part of the Linga sarira or the astral body existing inside all the beings. It is a part of the body but it is not a visible part. It exists in conjunction with Sthula sarira or the gross physical body. Sukshuma Prana move in the nervous system of the Linga sarira and Sthula prana move in the nervous system of the Sthula sarira. These two are existent in the human body together, one in its visible form and the other in its invisible form.

In the physical body the structures formed at the places where the nerves cross each other are called plexus. Similarly in the astral body the Nadis cross each other and form zones called Chakras. The physical plexus known to the medical practitioners are as follows Hepatic, Cervical, Lumbar, Sacral, Brachial, Coccygeal, Cardiac, Pulmonary, Epigastric, Esophageal, Pharyngeal, Lingual, Prostatic and many more. The Sushumna Nadi has many centres that are corresponding to various systems of the physical body. These are centres of the astral energy these are centres of vital force or Prana energy also called the life force or Chaitanya. These centres are also known as Chakras also known as Padmas or Lotuses.

The Chaitanya element of each Chakra is corresponding type of Tattva or Guna or element which is significant of the characteristics of that particular Chakra. Each Chakra is denoted by an animal figure. This denotes the basic characteristics of that particular Chakra. When the Kundalini is awakened it moves as per the direction of the yogi and extreme Ananda or bliss is experienced wherever it reaches. When it reaches the head the yogi experiences perfect bliss and enlightenment.

There are seven Chakras found in the human body. Their descriptions and details are as follows:

Muladhara Chakra: This Chakra is situated near the base of the genital organs and the anus. This is the first and most basic Chakra and is the support base of the entire serpentine path of the rise of the Chakra. Complete knowledge of Kundalini arousal can be achieved by concentrating on this Chakra. A person has perfect control over mind, Prana and semen discharge if he controls this Chakra.

Svadhisthana Chakra: This Chakra is at the root of the reproductive organs and controls the abdomen, kidneys, and reproductive organs of the physical being. It is believed that this Chakra controls the water element of the body. A person who attains mastery of this Chakra can control the water of the body and has no fear of water even in the most disastrous forms.

Manipura Chakra: This exists near the navel on the physical body. This is the centre of Agni or fire element of the body. This Chakra controls liver and stomach of the physical body. Controlling this Chakra can make a person completely free of any kind of fear of fire. It is believed that such a person can walk unharmed out of blazing fire also.

Anahata Chakra: This Chakra corresponds with the cardiac plexus in the physical self. Controlling this Chakra can make a person very likeable and loveable. This Chakra controls the Vayu Tattva or the air element of the body. This is supposed to make a person close to the cosmic energy of the divine.

Vishuddha Chakra: This Chakra's place of station corresponds to the throat of the physical body. This chakra controls the Akasa tattva or the ether element of the body. The person who has mastered enough control over this Chakra attains immense knowledge and wisdom.

Ajna Chakra: This situation of this Chakra corresponds to the centre of forehead between the two eyebrows. The exact corresponding position in the physical self is at the cavernous plexus. Concentration on this Chakra gives divine bliss and enlightenment to the Sadhak.

Sahasrara Chakra: This Chakra is situated at the crown of the head in the physical body. This Chakra is the house of Lord Shiva. When the Kundalini is aroused and taken to this level the experience of Parama Ananda or eternal bliss is garnered.

Lalana Chakra: In addition to the above mentioned seven chakras some people believe in the existence of an eighth one also. This is called Lalana Chakra. Out of the above mentioned seven, leaving the Sahasrara Chakra which is the chief Chakra rest are a part of Shat Chakras. The Llana Chakra is situated between the Ajna and Sahasrara Chakras.

The Kundalini when aroused moves from Muladhara Chakra to Sahasrara Chakra. A person feels great warmth in that portion of the body where Kundalini is taken through concentration. When the Kundalini leaves a certain portion of the body to go another Chakra the part of the body becomes very cold.

<< Back to Yoga Main Page